Edgeworth Heights Public School

Respect - Responsibility - Strive

Telephone02 4958 1180


Learning at our school

Edgeworth Heights Public School provides a dynamic educational experience for students that enables them to become independent, creative and connected lifelong learners.

Our academic programs focus on building students' foundational skills, attitudes and values to ensure they achieve their individual potential.  The school provides a very explicit delivery of curriculum that is underpinned by four non-negotiable directions for every learning environment:

  • strong relationships

  • high expectations and excellent classroom practice

  • excellent classroom tone

  • quality bookwork and feedback for students.

Literacy and numeracy skills are taught explicitly as well as embedded in other key learning areas (KLA), as outlined in the NSW Board of Studies syllabi.

 Edgeworth Heights Public School is committed to providing a safe, respectful and disciplined learning environment for students and staff, where students have opportunities to engage in quality learning experiences and acquire values supportive of their lifelong wellbeing.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.